Home Page
Home Page
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: "THE ONLY PLACE YOUR JOY CAN COME FROM . . . IS FROM THE JOY YOU'VE GIVEN YOUR BROTHER FIRST." ~~ Raj
- (Added by: amena)

Finding the guts to say NO
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> The Gathering Place (TGP)Message format

Field of Flowers
Posted 2003-02-24 2:51 PM (#3301)
Subject: Finding the guts to say NO

Expert

On Mondays,I work as an aromatherapist in two different residential homes for the elderly. Most of the residents suffer with dementia and very few of my conversations with them make much sense, but they enjoy the one to one attention. And I enjoy their enjoyment.
I see many things that offend my sensitive nature and do what I can to help the residents to be more comfortable, even though it's not my job. I wash faces that still have the remains of breakfast on them. I wrap chilly ladies in blankets, I look for glasses that are lost. Find an extra cushion to make someone more comfortable and pester the staff if someone has wet themselves until they take heed and change them.
Sometimes I think that I will be given my notice as I know that I overstep the mark. I'm sure that a few members of staff find me a pain in the neck.
I have felt that I should speak to the owner of the home when I see things that trouble me, but I'm not very brave and she's always in a rush.

This morning before going to work I sat and meditated for half an hour and asked God to guide me to do his will
Whilst giving Margaret one of my ladies a head massage I noticed that her cardigan was covered in food, so when I'd finished I said that I'd get her a clean one from her room.
As I was going there, I noticed that the door to another lady's room was open. This lady has Alchziemers,is bedridden and unable to communicate in anyway.