Home Page
Home Page
Search | Statistics | User Listing Forums | Calendars | Albums | Quotes | Skins | Language
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: Give no reality to guilt, and see NO reason for it ... That is the ANSWER! ~ Raj - 18/11/07 ( submitted by DoG)

Can we start over?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> The Gathering Place (TGP)Message format

robbieh
Posted 2003-02-24 9:08 PM (#3339 - in reply to #3302)
Subject: What do I do?

Expert

I have been a nurse for 25 years. I treat all my patients with love and humility. In that regard, I am a servant. I've been made fun of for being kind to "odd people". The look of gratitude on the "odd" people's faces when someone is kind to them is worth more than a pay raise.

I give things to the guys on the corner with signs (will work for food), sometimes its all the cash in my wallet. I say hi and smile at them... make eye contact. I always respond when they talk to me on the street. I learned a lot from them, about how life is when you are homeless. Not all of them are unhappy about being homeless. That was a surprise to me.

I make eye contact with all the clerks in the stores when I buy things and smile. I don't hassle them when they are very busy. To the grumpy ones I say please take your time I am not in a hurry. I notice when someone needs help and get things down from tall shelves in the grocery store for people. I must have an open friendly face because strangers always talk to me.